Redirection (301) from within nginx based container (openresty lua-resty-openidc) to another container fails in browser on host machine because server (container name) is unknown

Hi,

I am a newbie experimenting with using lua-resty-openidc in a docker-compose environment that uses Keycloak Community 6.0.1 server as the OpenID Connect provider. A quick overview of the issue is illustrated here.

I am using keycloak with lua-resty-openidc (nginx based module) to provide OpenID connect authentication and authorisation flow.

When I make a browser request from the docker host to an endpoint exposed in the openresty container the request url fails to redirect and display on the browser since keycloak server is not recognised on the docker host machine. For example:

http://keycloak:8080/auth/realms/myclient/protocol/openid-connect/auth?response_type=code&client_id=myclient&state=dbd8f19e9fceb1b350cba24de40126b7&redirect_uri=http%3A%2F%2FX.X.X.X%3A4200&nonce=b3eb4bd24e829e02fd7510da90f808cd&scope=openid%20email%20profile

If I copy and paste the request url and use curl from within the openresty container then the login page html is returned from the keycloak container as expected.

I have appended the docker-compose file, Dockerfile for openresty service and nginx configuration files below.

Has anybody experienced and resolved a similar issue, i.e. how to redirect to and display html from a container within a docker-compose environment?

Update

If I add keycloak and angular to /etc/hosts redirection works for keycloak and angular containers. Is this the recommended solution or are there better alternatives?

nginx:

worker_processes 1;
events {
    worker_connections  128;
}

http {
  include mime.types;
  default_type application/octet-stream;
  sendfile on;
  keepalive_timeout 65;
  lua_code_cache off;
  lua_need_request_body on;
  gzip on;

resolver 127.0.0.11 ipv6=off;
  real_ip_header X-Forwarded-For;
  real_ip_recursive on;

lua_shared_dict discovery 1m;