Run, Run, Run, Run - looking for a better method

I am new to Docker and have inherited Dockerfile that’s used to build our Django environment.

The Dockerfile is a series of (mostly), “RUN” commands

Is there a better method of combining these?

Does every, “RUN” command create a separate image?

RUN dpkg-divert --local --rename --add /sbin/initctl
RUN ln -sf /bin/true /sbin/initctl
RUN apt-get update && apt-get install -qyy curl
RUN curl -sL https://deb.nodesource.com/setup_6.x | bash -
RUN apt-get update && apt-get install -qyy
RUN add-apt-repository ppa:fkrull/deadsnakes
RUN apt-get update && apt-get install -qyy
RUN wget --quiet -O - https://www.postgresql.org/media/keys/ACCC4CF8.asc | sudo apt-key add -
RUN sudo apt-get update
RUN pip install supervisor-stdout
RUN service supervisor stop
RUN service nginx stop
RUN rm /etc/nginx/sites-enabled/default && rm /usr/share/nginx/html/*
RUN apt-get update && apt-get install -qyy libjpeg8
RUN apt-get update && apt-get install -qyy libjpeg-dev libpq-dev autoconf build-essential libffi-dev
RUN apt-get update && apt-get install -qyy postgresql-9.4
RUN sed -i ‘s/#listen_addresses/listen_addresses/g’ /etc/postgresql/9.4/main/postgresql.conf
RUN service postgresql start;
RUN pip install virtualenv virtualenvwrapper
RUN virtualenv -p /usr/bin/python3.5 /venv
RUN . /venv/bin/activate; pip install --upgrade pip setuptools wheel
RUN . /venv/bin/activate; pip install pillow==2.9.0 pandas==0.17.1
RUN . /venv/bin/activate; pip install -r requirements.txt
RUN apt-get remove -qyy libjpeg-dev libpq-dev autoconf libffi-dev
RUN service postgresql start;
RUN apt-get remove -qyy postgresql-9.4 && apt-get autoremove -qyy
RUN . /venv/bin/activate; cd /app; python manage.py npm
RUN . /venv/bin/activate; cd /app; python manage.py compilescss
RUN . /venv/bin/activate; cd /app; python manage.py collectstatic --noinput
RUN apt-get remove -qyy nodejs npm && apt-get autoremove -qyy

Yes, if you run docker images -a; “layer” is a more common term.