Self learning Docker: How to upgrade container (Jboss)

I am new to Docker and learning my self.

Currently I have installed Docker and I am running JBoss Image. I have two scenarios I got stuck, please help me on this.

1. I need to update the JBoss configuration, for that first I need to stop JBoss. As soon I am stopping the JBoss the container also stopping and I am unable to do any config changes. How can I keep the container UP to make some changes to the configuration files though the JBoss is stopped.

2. I have some applications deployed in JBoss container and I need to upgrade the JBoss version in the container, how can I do? If I pull new version image again I need to setup all my applications, without doing this rework how can we achieve it?

Hi

There is 2 ways of doing it.

1- use volumes, either a docker volume or a shared path into the container, that way changes to files in that folder, will survive a start/stop and even a recreate of the container

2- build an image where the configuration files are copied to the image, and you then have some version control of your images, if you found out the configuration changes you made didnt work, simply specify the version before the current one and start it up again

which one is the easiest? #1

Check this blog post and combine the mentioned jboss-cli approach with the 2nd approach terpz suggested!

Build a new image with the upgraded wildfly server version, make use of the jboss-cli and declare a dedicated folder where you map a volume with your jboss-cli scripts inside the container, then adjust the entrypoint script to actualy run all these jboss-cli scripts one by one. This will provide a great flexiblity.