Some questions about docker compose

Hello,
I am a newbie and have some questions about the docker compose:

1- In an internet article, a file called docker-compose.yaml was created to build the container. Can I create a YAML file for each container and use docker compose up -d to run it? If this is possible, how can I specify the input file?

2- I want to start a website that uses Nginx web server and PHP and JavaScript programming languages. Do I need a container for each (Nginx, PHP and JavaScript)?

3- The following configuration file creates a container using image and connects the containers using links:

version: '3.9'
services:
  web:
    image: nginx:latest
    ports:
      - '80:80'
    volumes:
      - ./src:/var/www/html/index.html
    links:
      - php-fpm
  php-fpm:
    image: php:8-fpm

Is it right?

4- I have created a container and now I want to make some changes in the YAML file and apply these new changes to the container. What should I do?

5- Is there a special folder for making containers? For example, the /var/www directory is for the web server.

I would be grateful if you could answer my questions clearly and based on the numbers.

Cheers.

Hi

1- No, in your example, for every website you have, you would create a docker-compose file.

2- Depends, normally when working with containers, you should have 1 container pr application, meaning: 1 container for database, 1 container for webserver, 1 container for proxy and so on, javascript is client side so that isnt needed.

3- That starts an nginx and a php-fpm server, then its your job to configure nginx to USE the php-fpm via ngnix configuration files, to make it simple, you can use the build in php-apache image:

version: '3'
services:
  php:
    ports:
    container_name: my-apache-php-app
    volumes:
      - './src:/var/www/html'
    image: 'php:apache'

4- you run docker compose up -d again