Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

Trouble Networking 3 containers in docker swarm config

Hi Docker Community,

So I’m networking three containers on the same overlay network and I’m having issues with communication between the containers. I’m currently running docker swarm and setting up a swarm with 3 containers. I’m linking a rasa server to a chatbot container and using an ngrok container because we need to expose the chatbot to a service for testing. I’m doing this through a docker compose file.

I’m new to docker and docker swarm so I don’t know if I’m properly linking the three properly and I could use some help with understanding overlay networking better and also how overlay networking functions when you need to expose services in the overlay network outside of the network.

I have included my Docker compose

version: '3.5'

services:
    rasa:
        image: rasa/rasa:2.8.9-full
        container_name: rasa
        ports:
        - "5005:5005"
        volumes:
        - "./models:/home/ubuntu/datascience/chatops/opsdroid_deployment/models"
        - ./rasa_endpoint.yml:/home/ubuntu/datascience/chatops/opsdroid_deployment/rasa_endpoint.yml
        expose: 
         - "5005"
        networks:
          - opsdroid         
        command: >
         run 
         --enable-api 
         -m /home/ubuntu/datascience/chatops/opsdroid_deployment/models/slate_faq_model_v5.tar.gz 
         --endpoints /home/ubuntu/datascience/chatops/opsdroid_deployment/rasa_endpoint.yml 
         -t rasa_secret_token -vv
        restart: always

opsdroid:
        image: technolutions/opsdroid-image:dev_v3
        env_file:
         - /home/ubuntu/datascience/chatops/opsdroid_deployment/opsdroid_secrets.env
        depends_on:
          - rasa
        links:
          - rasa
        networks:
          - opsdroid
        ports:
        - target: 8080
          published: 8080
          protocol: tcp
        expose:
         - "8080"
        volumes: