Udevadm monitor in docker file

Hi,
I am new to docker. Just managed to set it up, and try to get my segger JLink programmer running in a container with the following docker file.

FROM ubuntu

ENV UDEV=on

RUN apt-get update -y
RUN apt-get upgrade -y

RUN apt install libxcb-render-util0-dev -y
RUN apt install libxrender1 libxcb-shape0 libxcb-randr0 libxcb-xfixes0 libxcb-sync1 libxcb-shm0 libxcb-icccm4 libxcb-keysyms1 libxcb-image0 libxkbcommon0 libxkbcommon-x11-0 libfontconfig1 libfreetype6 libxext6 libx11-xcb1 libsm6 libice6 libglib2.0-0 -y

RUN apt install udev -y
RUN /lib/systemd/systemd-udevd --daemon
RUN udevadm monitor &

RUN mkdir -p /home/Downloads
COPY JLink_Linux_V766c_x86_64.deb /home/Downloads/JLink_Linux_V766c_x86_64.deb

# RUN dpkg -i /home/Downloads/JLink_Linux_V766c_x86_64.deb

CMD bash

I need to comment out 1 line (RUN dpkg -i) because it fails with the following error:

Failed to send reload request: No such file or directory
3-2: Failed to write ‘remove’ to ‘/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:08.1/0000:05:00.4/usb3/3-2/uevent’: Read-only file system
3-2: Failed to write ‘add’ to ‘/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:08.1/0000:05:00.4/usb3/3-2/uevent’: Read-only file system

I can resolve this error by issueing the command udevadm monitor & in my docker. Once the monitor is running, I can install my segger JLink and use it without any problems.

But, now I need to install segger JLink every time I start my container, and that’s not what I want :slight_smile: .

So I tried to simply add RUN udevadm monitor & in my docker file, but that doesn’t seem to do the trick.

How can I resolve the error the best way?

Ah, found the answer but it doesn’t solve anything. I can run something which is clearly not preferred according to official docs

RUN nohup bash -c "udevadm monitor &" && sleep 4

But the problem I am facing, is that I need peripherals of the host system, during build time of the image. And that seems not to be supported.