Using Docker for Elastic Search using enrollement tokens

Good day to you all, Let me preface this by saying I am very new to docker and am working on building out elasticsearch for logging data. I have been able to successfully build a cluster, and start kibana with all of my nodes listed. the problem I run into Is getting the container settings to persist after a container restart.

What ends up happening is the securoty auto configuration skips because the container has already been started once with the enrollment token. Once it is enrolled in the cluster it works as expected. I know what settigns change in the elasticsearch.yml file, but I’m not sure how to make that data persist beyond restarting the container. I have created the containers with volumes to keep the data persistent. Is this another stuation here where I have to persist the yml file for settings for all my containers using a volume?

Is there a different way of doing this?

Been pouring over the documentation for both elasticsearch and docker but seem to be missing something between the two.

Docker version: Latest
Elasticsearch 8.11.0

I am using the commands following this guide: Install Elasticsearch with Docker | Elasticsearch Guide [8.11] | Elastic

The only thing I have modified is adding a --mount to the creation portion to allow for data persistence.

Would recommend to share your Docker commands or docker-compose.yml.

I added the guide i have been following, when i get to the add more nodes section and use this command: docker run -e ENROLLMENT_TOKEN="<token>" --name es02 --net elastic -it -m 1GB docker.elastic.co/elasticsearch/elasticsearch:8.11.0

the node starts and security configuration is successful. if i however ctrl +c out and try to restart the container, node start up fails. This part I understand as I have run into it in the past on a bare metal install.