Utterly mystified about docker file system

I’m new to Docker and I’m following the basic instructions. I can get something running following the instructions step by step, but the instant I try to do something myself everything stops working. In particular I’m utterly mystified about the relationship between the file system in a container and the file system on my local disk.

I thought that the idea of Docker was that it should be isolated, but it quite clearly isn’t. A write to files inside a running container shows up as a write to files on my local disk. This means I can’t have multiple containers for the same image as they’ll all be fighting over access to my local disk.

I’m running a basic Rails app https://docs.docker.com/compose/rails/ with the web and db in separate images and separate containers. My docker compose is

version: '3'
services:
db:
  image: postgres
  volumes:
    - ./tmp/db:/var/lib/postgresql/data
web:
  build: .
  command: bundle exec rails s -p 3000 -b '0.0.0.0'
  volumes:
    - .:/myapp
  ports:
     - "3000:3000"
  depends_on:
     - db

When I run the app it works! Great but updates to the log file in the docker_web_1 container show up as updates in my local log/development.log

I’m guessing this is because the lines in the docker-compose.yml

volumes:
     - .:/myapp

Are sharing the directory in the container with my local directory. Why?

What I want is a set of containers, each with their own IP address and isolated file systems and databases, that can communicate with each other. What’s the best way to do this?

You probably found a tutorial that’s optimized for rapid development over, well, using Docker effectively.