When and why is a "full rebuild" required

I’m trying to actually understand this section. I’ve used Docker in the past but it has been 4 years and I can’t recall details. The section says, for example, if I change the Gemfile then I need to do a full rebuild to “sync changes to the Gemfile.lock to the host”. But I don’t understand what is fundamentally different between the Gemfile or any other arbitrary file in the Ruby application and the Gemfile.lock file.

My real actual concern is I am planning on using Docker for a RoR app in development mode so I will be making frequent changes to the files. When and Why will I need to do a full rebuild?

I am not surprised that you were confused by that tutorial. I did not understand it first either. I am not a Ruby developer, so it is normal that I don’t fully understand everything related to Ruby. However, there are some parts of that tutorial that I would not write that way, and I am not talking about “running the image” which is in my point of view is “running the container” as the command also indicates: docker container run ...

It uses an entrypoint

COPY entrypoint.sh /usr/bin/
RUN chmod +x /usr/bin/entrypoint.sh
ENTRYPOINT ["entrypoint.sh"]

with this content:

#!/bin/bash
set -e

# Remove a potentially pre-existing server.pid for Rails.
rm -f /myapp/tmp/pids/server.pid

# Then exec the container's main process (what's set as CMD in the Dockerfile).
exec "$@"

but then in the compose file it uses a command which would be the argument of the entrypoint likes this:

entrypoint.sh bash -c "rm -f tmp/pids/server.pid && bundle exec rails s -p 3000 -b '0.0.0.0'"

which would run this:

#!/bin/bash
set -e

# Remove a potentially pre-existing server.pid for Rails.
rm -f /myapp/tmp/pids/server.pid

# Then exec the container's main process (what's set as CMD in the Dockerfile).
exec bash -c "rm -f tmp/pids/server.pid && bundle exec rails s -p 3000 -b '0.0.0.0'"