Why does the node_modules folder requires a volume in order to be present in the container?

Hello all! I’ve recently spent some time learning Docker and have been attempting to write my own container images. I have a few questions that I would appreciate to get some thoughts on and learn more about.

Please forgive me if some aspects might be obvious, I’m really new to it but I am very keen to learn!

My interest in Docker containers at the moment lies more on the fact that when I work on a project with someone else, the development environment is the same and introducing new developers to a project can become slightly easier since they wouldn’t have to install any dependencies or run a number of commands they maybe do not understand what they’re for. After reading some of the documentation and watching some videos on how to build a Docker image I started trying to implement it in one of my projects which requires Node to work.

It does work fine (can be accessed here) but there are some aspects I do not fully understand. For instance, if I describe an npm install in a Dockerfile it runs it when building the image. However, does that mean that the node_modules folder is stored inside the image?

I assumed that it does since when the image is built the npm install command seems to run at that point, is this correct? The reason I’m not sure what really happens is that I ended up having to create a volume for node_modules in order to make use of the dependencies, however, I’m not quite sure why, the folder existed in the container, but it was empty.

I’m leaving my files below for anyone to give feedback, please feel free to access the project. I added these files to if you would like to see it in a more contextualized manner. Is there a better way to create an image for a project that needs node dependencies? Here’s the files:

Dockerfile:

# This image makes use of a Node image running on Linux Alpine
  FROM node:15-alpine3.13