About Cuba's ban from Docker services

Docker’s awesome, but I’m a developer from Cuba, and there’s one thing that hinders us from using it.

The thing is, since we’re a sanctioned country, we get this page when trying to access the Docker webs/images.

I know these things are mandatory, but I wanted to ask if these regulations could be reviewed. Relationships between our countries have been improving since President Obama visited our country on March this year, and there have been a lot of significant ammendments to the U.S. policy regarding our country.

The thing is, the sanctions specific to Cuba are well described in this page from the U.S. Department of Commerce, and I believe Docker is a piece of software that could perfectly apply for a license exception under the “Support for the Cuban People” category. Docker can be used to deploy many different kinds of services, such as Rocket.Chat, for instance, in which case it could indirectly “improve the free flow of information”, as per the regulation terms.

Any help or comments on this matter will be really appreciated. Thanks!

4 Likes

removing the sanction would be best, of course, but in the meantime can you use a VPN? it would probably have to be a non-american one, of course!

Tor is your friend if you don’t have access to an open vpn or proxy outside of the US.

Having been through this kind of stuff before, I wouldn’t expect Docker to meet the full criteria because it is also very wide ranging in uses- probably too wide under the EAR. Also, indirect support of something is usually not enough because almost anything could “indirectly” support nearly anything.

That’s exactly why these measures are ludicrous. I can use Microsoft Word to draw up plans for a nuclear device. So? Would this mean it is restricted?