Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

Access an application that is hosted with docker-compose on other computers

(Randomtoolguy) #1

Hi!

I’m very new to docker and I’ve just managed to containerize an application that I want to host on my laptop so that other remote people can access this application.

What are my alternatives for granting remote people access?

I would optimally want to have a DNS-name pointing at my web-application but I’m not sure if I need to use something like AWS or Azure to host the application in the cloud, or if I can just use a IIS/Nginx-image in my docker-compose file and point remote people to an IP-address/DNS-name.

Thanks so much in advance

Best regards Isak

(David Maze) #2

Use docker run -p or the Docker Compose ports: section to expose your application via a port on your host system. Set the DNS name to point at the host.

This is slightly inconvenient if you want to host a plain Web application and otherwise have the power to make http://myapp.example.com work; you’d prefer to not have to qualify it with a specific port number. In that case you need some intermediary that can answer that DNS name on port 80/443 and forward it to the right port on the physical host. In AWS I’d use an ordinary load balancer for this; I think it’s also pretty common to set up nginx or another Web server to do host-based routing.

My two pieces of advice are to not try to give your container an independently-accessible IP address (you will wind up reinventing most of the Docker networking machinery by hand and probably hard-coding IP addresses, which invites trouble) and to not touch /etc/hosts anywhere at all (you said the magic words “DNS name” which is the right answer).