Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

Advice about deployment

Hello,

I am new to docker so be patient with me.

I have a web app that is supposed to execute processes on the client(like opening a directory on file explorer,on windows). This app is only for internal use within the organization i work for. Docker seems a good fit because i could run the webapp on a container, and execute the processes using a named pipe on a docker volume, accessible both by the host and the container.

This requires to install docker on every client pc that wants to run the web app. So i would not run that container on our server, but instead i would run a container on each pc that is supposed to run the app.(each pc would be a docker host).

My question: Is this a proper use of docker? I am worried that installing docker on our 50 pcs could be too much.

Thanks for your support,

regards

There’s a lot to cover here!

First, web apps cannot execute client processes - they have no direct access to the host OS where the browser is running. You can trigger file upload dialogs but couldn’t run an executable. That said, developing your web app with Docker and using containers during deployment is practical.

Why would all users need Docker? Are you suggesting they run individual instances of your web app? Docker containers are (mostly) isolated from the underlying OS and file system. It is possible to bind mount host folders, but you couldn’t directly launch a Windows executable.

My Docker for Web Developers book and video course may help you. It describes how to create web applications using Docker.

Hello Craig,

thanks for your reply. I do agree with you on the fact that web apps cannot execute client processes. That is what I was trying to overcome. I know that a sandboxed environment is a good thing for security.