Basic question on container stack

Hi,

Sorry if this is a basic question im new to docker. I would like to know how to go about recreating my server environment, which is as follows:

CentOS 7
PHP 7
MariaDB 10
PHPMyAdmin
WHM/cPanel
Im not sure if i get these all separate and install them or if i need a specific premade setup.

Any help or hand holding would be much appreciated!

Thanks,

Hi @matt3224,

Awesome that you’re getting started with Docker. But I don’t think that it’s the best solution for what you want to achieve. CPanel is a really big and heavy framework that often takes a complete VPS to install. Why do you want to use Docker for this?

Docker can be used to run applications in a isolated environment. Docker containers don’t have the overhead of a virtual machine because they use cgroups and namespaces but share the same kernel.
When you’re developing a application you often have dependencies, and use various different processes. Docker helps decoupling and isolating these processes into containers. Making it easy to scale horizontally and reuse them.

Containers should be considered ephemeral. They aren’t persistent, and you should be able to just destroy a container and run a new one with very little configuration. If you have persistent data like uploads or a database, you use volumes. You can link a volume to a container so data written into that volume isn’t lost when you destroy the container. Because cPanel is like a monolith of tools, configs, websites, logs you can’t use volumes to seperate data from code.

I think it would be wiser to just get a clean VPS/Virtual Machine and run a clean install of cPanel in that. My guess is that it will also be more stable.

But if you really want to use Docker for this, I would advice you look at this image to get started https://hub.docker.com/r/mirhosting/centos7-cpanel/

You can run cPanel in a container just like any other Linux process :wink: