Can't access the web inside a container when using port mapping?

Hi everyone,

I’m new to docker and I’m trying to do a proof-of-concept in order to integrate OnlyOffice with my Java application.

I decided to make this post since several days have passed already and I kinda fill that I’m now in a “dead end”/loop/whiteout any ideas.

I’m running a cloud VM with Debian 11 with docker installed (Docker version 27.0.3, build 7d4bcd8) . I’ve configured /etc/docker/daemon.json on my host with the following:

{
  "ip": "127.0.0.1",
  "log-driver": "local",
  "log-opts": {
    "max-file": "5",
    "max-size": "100m"
   }
}

As for my docker compose.yaml I have the following:

services:
  onlyoffice:
    image: onlyoffice/documentserver-de
    container_name: onlyoffice
    ports:
      - "127.0.0.1:8085:80"
    environment:
      - JWT_SECRET=****
    extra_hosts:
      - "my_vm_hostname:host-gateway"

Where I’m using the “extra_hosts” option in order to some request being able to “communicate” with the host (I don’t know if this is the correct way, but it was the only one I’ve found so far that actually worked).

Now here’s my problem:
I’m not able to access the internet inside my onlyoffice container (like doing “apt update” or a “curl google.com” command).

I notice that if I just run the container without any port mapping and using the network mode host I can indeed reach the web (kinda expected from what I’ve been reading):

docker run -i -t --network host -e JWT_SECRET=**** onlyoffice/documentserver-de

After some searching I started to suspect this issue could be related with my nftables rules in-place.
My nftables are as follow:

chain INPUT {
                type filter hook input priority 0; policy drop;
                iifname "lo" counter accept
                ip daddr 127.0.0.0/8 counter reject
                ct state established,related counter accept
                ct state invalid drop
                tcp dport {ssh,http,https} counter accept