Change disk assigned to container

Hello all,

im fairly new to docker containers and so far im loving it.

i decided to move to a container my instance of Nextcloud, but there is one small issue that has been preventing me to fully make the switch.

this is my yml file:

nextcloud:
image: nextcloud
container_name: Nextcloud
networks:
- network
ports:
- 8290:80
environment:
- NEXTCLOUD_ADMIN_USER=user
- NEXTCLOUD_ADMIN_PASSWORD=user_password
- NEXTCLOUD_DATA_DIR=/var/www/html/data
- NEXTCLOUD_TRUSTED_DOMAINS=‘a_domain.com’
- MYSQL_USER=ncddbuser
- MYSQL_PASSWORD=a_password
- MYSQL_DATABASE=nextcloud
- MYSQL_HOST=mariadb
volumes:
- /media/nextcloud/data:/data
- /media/nextcloud/config:/config
restart: always

it deploys fine alongside mariadb.

but when i go into the system on Nextcloud i get the below:

is there a way that i can move this disk to my external HDD so i can have 1TB of space allocated instead of the 55 GB?

the container is writing to the external HDD, but ill get only 55GB.

ive been looking all over but cant get past this.

can any of yall please help me getting this sorted out?

Thanks in advance!

Why would you configure it to use the wrong drive in the first place? You can always stop the container, move the data from /media/nextcloud/data to wherever you external drive is, change the “volume” mapping, restart the container and be good.

Word of warning: storing volume data on external drives is usualy a call for trouble.

/media/extcloud is my external hdd, but the container still shows only 55GB instead of the actual 1TB

If /media/nextcloud/data is on your external drive and mapped to /data inside the container, it should be correct. There is no magic involved: it literaly relies on mount --bind /media/nextcloud/data /data (where /data) is the targetfolder inside the container.

It writes some data to the external drive, but I can’t use more than 55GB and the external hdd (/media/Nextcloud) is 1tb