Complete beginner - HELP!

Hi there

I have recently began on my journey towards (hopefully) becoming a software developer. I am currently at the early stage of trying to set up my first Docker Image and Container. I have set up my Docker account but the book I am reading has asked me to “Create a directory in my home directory (or wherever I can easily find it)”. Inside that directory I must create a file called Dockerfile.

I am sure this is a very basic silly question, but can anyone explain what this means in simple terms and I cannot work it out, thus am prevented from moving forward.

Many thanks.

Please help us to understand what exactly it is you find unclear.
Is it creating the directory? Or creating a new text file and saving it inside that created directory using the name Dockerfile?

Hi there

Thanks for your reply.

Please excuse the clumsy language, brand new to anything software development!

I have created a Repository, on Docker. Now I need to “Create a directory in my home directory” then, in that directory I need to create a file called Dockerfile.

The book then goes on to say that "this file does not have a file extension. It is just called Dockerfile. If you are using Sublime you should be able to create your Dockerfile using Sublime. Add these three lines into your Dockerfile:

FROM python: 3.7.5-slim
RUN python -m pip install DateTime
RUN apt update && apt -y install vim

I assume things will become more obvious when I understand how to make a directory in my home directory and know how to create a file called Dockerfile.

Thanks again. I look forward to your thoughts.

Nick

I can see why it’s not explained in the book, as it is basic knowledge about your operating system.

I could google those things for you, but I trust you are able to goole for “how to create a directory mac” and “how to create a text file mac” on your own.

Goodness, is it that simple! Thank you kindly.

Me again, cap in hand!

So, the book says the following: