Copying docker image to another server

Hi all,

Apologies if the terminology I am using isn’t quite correct; I’m still learning about Docker…

I am looking after a series of Docker containers on two old servers that are currently running. They were created by a former employee at my organisation with docker-compose. He has since left and due to lack of documentation and missing dependencies (i.e., some of these containers were first created over 5 years ago), I am unable to re-produce the image using docker-compose.

However, the images are currently running. Is it possible to save these images and bring them back up on another server?

I came across https://stackoverflow.com/questions/23935141/how-to-copy-docker-images-from-one-host-to-another-without-using-a-repository on Stackoverflow and while the question is from 2014, replies since have all seemed to give similar advice. That is, to use the save followed by the load commands.

Assuming this advice is still valid, I have three questions:

1. I read elsewhere (sorry, I lost the link) that saving and loading isn’t quite the same as a virtual machine. That is, I can issue a docker commit command, but a container isn’t a VM. Changes aren’t guaranteed to be saved. I guess this is something I need to keep in mind, but it is the best that I can do.

2. I suppose I should stop the containers before trying to do a “save”? To not do this would save it in an inconsistent state?

3. Lastly, the currently running containers are using Docker versions 18.06.1 and 19.03.11 (two different servers). If I load them on a newer version of Docker (23.0.3), will there be an incompatibility problem? Do I have to load them back on the exact same Docker version?

Oh, both the servers where the containers are currently running on and the server where I intend to load the containers back on are running on Ubuntu. Two fairly old version of Ubuntu (18.04 and 20.04) and the latest LTS (22.04).