Docker can't find image in "local"

Hello I’m new to docker and I have a strange issue.
I have an M1 mac pro (ARM) running on Monterrey 12.6.3 and latest version of Docker Desktop 4.17.0
I have run this command to pull a new image:

docker pull ghcr.io/aws-samples/grpc-examples/greeter_server:v0.1.0
v0.1.0: Pulling from aws-samples/grpc-examples/greeter_server
c0af9ae4a72c: Pull complete 
Digest: sha256:1238c498c8ab00d423dc610c7b1e2b305a24f7fb7a36863925db5edb362a255a
Status: Downloaded newer image for ghcr.io/aws-samples/grpc-examples/greeter_server:v0.1.0
ghcr.io/aws-samples/grpc-examples/greeter_server:v0.1.0

However when I try to run such image it fails:

docker run -d --name greeter_server greeter_server                 
Unable to find image 'greeter_server:latest' locally
docker: Error response from daemon: pull access denied for greeter_server, repository does not exist or may require 'docker login': denied: requested access to the resource is denied.
See 'docker run --help'.

if I go inside the desktop application I can see the image being downloaded but If I explore the folder location where this should be (according to the UI config panel = /Users/$MYUSERNAME/Library/Containers/com.docker.docker/Data/vms/0/data) I don’t see any image at all.

What’s happening here?

Thanks for your help

The image you pulled is identified by a full repo name (including the registry fqdn) and a specific tag. You need to use the same when you want to create a container based on that image.

This should work (assumed the repo and tag are correct):
docker run -d --name greeter_server ghcr.io/aws-samples/grpc-examples/greeter_server:v0.1.0

Pulling images is optional: if an image does not exist in the local image cache, it will be pulled automaticly.

1 Like

Thanks a lot, your command worked!
However why I’m not able to “physically” see the downloaded image file? Do you know why this is happening? Where this image is stored after I have pulled it?