Docker Capabilties for Software Development

Hi everyone!

I’m a cost engineer looking to learn about some of the advantages of using containers for software development. Part of what I do is produce activity-based estimates of cost, schedule and uncertainty using our company’s software program for projects in different organizations. I’ve had a few clients ask about containerized software and how this changes the estimates.

I have minimal experience in software development and am just learning about containers. I’ve used Docker a bit but only know the basics and still have a lot to learn. Anyone that uses Docker for software development, how has is helped you and what do you do differently with access to containers? And how do you think it can improve a large scale software development project?

Thank you!