Docker-compose up doesn't work because `Nginx failed to build`. Don't know how to fix

I’m new to docker, and have been trying to troubleshoot this error for a while. I’ve read similar posts and nothing seems to work.

Full error:

failed to solve with frontend dockerfile.v0: failed to create LLB definition: failed to copy: httpReadSeeker: failed open: could not fetch content descriptor sha256:eff196a3849ad6541fd3afe676113896be214753740e567575bb562986bd2cd4 (application/vnd.docker.distribution.manifest.v1+json) from remote: not found
ERROR: Service 'nginx' failed to build : Build failed 

I have three Dockerfiles, one for my react frontend, one for my django backend, and one for nginx.

Frontend dockerfile:

COPY ./react_app/package.json .
RUN apk add --no-cache --virtual .gyp \
        python \
        make \
        g++ \
    && npm install \
    && apk del .gyp

COPY ./react_app .

ARG API_SERVER
ENV REACT_APP_API_SERVER=${API_SERVER}
RUN REACT_APP_API_SERVER=${API_SERVER} \ 
  npm run build

WORKDIR /usr/src/app
RUN npm install -g serve
COPY --from=builder /usr/src/app/build ./build

Django Python backend Dockerfile

WORKDIR /usr/src/app

ENV PYTHONDONTWRITEBYTECODE 1
ENV PYTHONUNBUFFERED 1

COPY ./requirements.txt .
RUN pip wheel --no-cache-dir --no-deps --wheel-dir /usr/src/app/wheels -r requirements.txt

FROM python:3.7.9-slim-stretch
RUN apt-get update && apt-get install -y --no-install-recommends netcat && \
   apt-get autoremove -y && \
   apt-get clean && \
   rm -rf /var/lib/apt/lists/*

COPY --from=builder /usr/src/app/wheels /wheels
COPY --from=builder /usr/src/app/requirements.txt .
RUN pip install --no-cache /wheels/*
WORKDIR /usr/src/app
COPY ./entrypoint.sh /usr/src/app/entrypoint.sh

COPY ./django_app .

RUN chmod +x /usr/src/app/entrypoint.sh
ENTRYPOINT ["/usr/src/app/entrypoint.sh"]

and the nginx dockerfile

FROM nginx:1.19.0-alpine

RUN rm /etc/nginx/conf.d/default.conf
COPY nginx.conf /etc/nginx/conf.d

WORKDIR /usr/src/app