Docker Linux vs Windows port not publishing

Hello, Docker beginner here. I am trying to understand the differences of what it takes to get Docker working in these two separate environments.

I am trying to publish port 3306:3306 for mariadb in the screenshot below, but the port is always BLANK/EMPTY after I run the container, on Windows only. I’ve tested this on a linux machine (to make sure that it’s really just Windows) and it DOES work there.

The status of the Ports on Windows is always “Exited”, too. What do I need to do on Windows specifically to get this working please?

The STATUS you’re seeing is the container’s status, it started and then exited immediately for some reason.

User ‘docker logs container-name’ to see the containers console output and figure out why it couldn’t start properly. Maybe the volume you’re mapping already contains a database that can’t be imported?

Hi klypnick!

I ran “docker logs container-name” and got this message:

Searching around for solutions to this error message but no luck yet.

Regarding your question about a database that can’t be imported, I am actually trying to create a fresh new db with mariadb in a container so there shouldn’t be any protections on it. This is the same exact routine I used on a linux machine and it worked, just not on my Windows desktop.

Use the Docker Log command to see why it failed.
Since you used the command, it says that your innoDb file is 0 length, and expected 768. So the folder in which innoDb resides needs permission to write. Since the program failed to run, the port was not assigned and shows as a blank.