General docker workflow misunderstanding

I want to start off by saying I am an absolute beginner with docker and have never used it prior to the project I am currently working on. If I am posting this in the wrong place, I would be happy to remove it and ask for help elsewhere. The OS version, App version, and steps aren’t that important because it seems to be more of a conceptual issue.

I have watched quite a few tutorial videos and have started to read through a lot of the Dockerfile and docker-compose documentation. That being said, I think I have a fundamental misunderstanding about how to actually develop code using docker.

In summary, I want to create a Django application (using the python official image), use a MySQL database, and serve it using apache (using the httpd image). I think I understand the general process:

1. Create a Dockerfile that installs Django and other dependencies with a requirements.txt, create the directory, copy in the Django project files, etc
  2. Create a docker-compose file that builds the Django image and runs it along with the SQL DB and web server on the same network

The main issue that I would like to address is the following:
When creating the Django image that I will then be attempting to build, you need to copy in the source code. Nearly everything that I have seen has a line like the following:
COPY . /some_dir