Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

Help forwarding ports within a container

Hello all, I’m brand new to docker. I’m currently using a Synology device, so docker is the ideal way to run applications I otherwise couldn’t such as Pihole. The system info is

Synology DS1019+ up to date
Docker is on version 18.09.0-5013
The docker image I’m having trouble with is realies/soulseek:latest

Soulseek is a P2P application so it needs to have 2 listening ports open in order to work. I used Portainer to set it up on the same network as my synology device, in host mode, rather than bridge. I can access soulseek by going to my synology devices IP at the default port for the soulseek container which is 192.168.0.25:6080.

Now within the container itself using Soulseeksown configuration I have selected 6081 and 6082 as my listening ports. My understanding is that since the container is on the host network, any port forwarded to the synology device goes straight to the container, right? So I forwarded ports 6081 and 6082 on my router to the Syno device. However it never gets there. Port checkers online say those ports are indeed open, but somewhere along the way they aren’t getting to the container. I really have no idea what to do here. Is there something else I need to configure to get the port from the router > synology device > docker > soulseek container?

I have tried doing this via SSH, via the GUI built into synology and of course with Portainer and it’s all the same. I hope this is enough information I can attach some screenshot or whatever if need be, thanks!

If you use network=host, the container binds all its ports directly on the hosts network interface (actualy it hooks into the same network namespace as the host, and network-wise acts like any other process on the host) and bypasses the need to publish ports.