How to build a deploy a Golang project with Docker?

I have built a Go project, which is a web application. It has packages and imports from different github repositories (such as Gorilla mux).

However, there aren’t really any docs on how to use Docker with a Go project that has dependencies and packages(folders).

I am new to Docker, but I am also totally lost. I’m hoping to deploy my project to the server using Docker, but I really have no clue in how to do that.

I tried creating a Dockerfile and following the Golang Docker Documentation, however the building proccess gives me the errors below.

What am I missing, or most precisely: What do I really don’t know in how to deploy a Go project with Docker?

General idea is to build an executable and package it together with whatever else it needs.

FROM alpine:3.7
COPY your files /
RUN chmod 0700 /yourexecutable
CMD [ '/yourexecutable' ]
1 Like

Thank you for your response.

However, what happens when dependencies and packagea are involved? The docker cannot create the image.

From your output, it looks like your application is called rm1, and is installed directly under the src folder under your GOPATH. Is this correct?

If that is the case, you should set that as your working directory in your Dockerfile. The Dockerfile from the golang documentation should be modified like this:

FROM golang:1.8

WORKDIR /go/src/rm1
COPY . .

RUN go get -d -v ./...
RUN go install -v ./...

CMD ["rm1"]

This should make it work. There are several other things you can do to make it better, but we would need to know more about your application before making further recommendations.

1 Like

I think what you’re trying to do is build your application inside a container. I don’t normally recommend that for your “final image” because that means you have your development tools.

As you have stated in your OP