How to start "ubuntu" docker container

Hi,

I’m new to docker. So I did run

docker run -it ubuntu

I did some installations (apache, php, etc) on my container. Now when I start my container it stops right away. No idea how to enter to command line and keep my web server running within that container.

While I’m reading a book I would appreciate if you can give me some hints and directions.

Cheers

1 Like

you could do a docker logs YOUR_CONTAINER for your container to see if it logs some errors.
Otherwise you can start your container with a shell by overriding the command docker run -ti YOUR_IMAGE /bin/sh or by overriding the entrypoint docker run -ti --entrypoint /bin/sh YOUR_IMAGE

2 Likes

Thanks. Logs are empty. Anyways when do docker run it just creates another container but I want to start a new container with all layer of modifications.

Never mind. Got the idea. It worked if I initially run with /bin/sh then container starts without an issue.

It is extremely common for containers to exit and be removed, and you should get used to a workflow where local changes inside a container are not persisted.

I’d highly recommend reading the Docker introductory Build your own image tutorial. When you want to run a container with software installed in it, write a Dockerfile to create an image that has that software (or find a prebuilt image with it) and then docker run that image from a known starting point.

2 Likes

Thanks a lot. Heading to the tutorial.

Great that you have found your way into the docker community. I just wanted to share some of my experiences and the tips and tricks I received when I started with Docker.