How to update the host machine that runs my docker containers / images?

Hi there,
I am fairly new to docker and this might be the most obvious thing for Linux veterans out there but I was not able to find a quick answer to this.

I have just started to migrate single raspberry pi installations dotted around our house into a single Ubuntu Server based installation with docker, running on one, central i3-10 based platform.

While I think I understand on how to update individual docker images (in my case e.g. mosquitto, zigbee2mqtt, ebusd, raspberrymatic, pihole, node-red, etc.), I am not clear on how to maintain my host machine? Primarily, if I attempt to update my Ubuntu installation (and e.g. docker version as part of that), do I pre-emptively have to shut down all my individual docker containers before I do that, or can this be done “on the fly”, with a linux update running in parallel to running containers?!

If this is documented somewhere, could you kindly point me that direction (or if not, share your best-practice approach for a similar environment)?

MANY thanks!
Robert

It depends on many things. If you think of a usual desktop Linux like Fedora or Ubuntu, you don’t want your machine running all the time, you you can run the updates, except you might want to hold your Docker packages like

apt-mark hold docker-ce docker-ce-cli docker-ce-rootless-extras

This is almost always important and maybe I forgot to add some packages to the example. If you let the package manager update Docker anytime, it can change some configuration you don’t want to change under your containers. For example the storage driver which would make your containers and volumes seemingly disappear.

I say it is “almost always” important because when you just play with the docker commands, you don’t care if the you have a newer version.