Update a running container

I created a linux docker container I want to be able to access on my local network as well as from the internet. I setup a macvlan network and assigned it an IP address from my local network.

I forgot to setup the hostname. The hostname in /etc/hostname is an image number.

Can I use docker service update with the hostname and image option? Also, while doing this, I may as well set the DNS while I’m at it.

I’m new to this and don’t want to break things.

docker service update --image=ubuntu --hostname=ubuntu --dns="192.168.1.2" --dns="1.1.1.1"

Not sure if the = or " " are needed.

Any help would be appreciated. I can rm the image and start over but if this would work, it would save me a little time.

TIA

docker service update is to update Docker Swarm services. It is always better to use a configuration file like docker-compose.yml for Docker Compose. You can even use that for Docker Swarm stack, except that the supported parameters can be different. Then you can run just docker compose up -d as many times as you whish and it will recreate the container.

You can’t change a running container. You could exec into the container and change some files but that is absolutely not recommended. Even with Docker Compose your old container will be stopped and a new one will be started. If you can’t allow even that much downtime, you need multiple instance of your service in a Docker Swarm cluster or in Kubernetes, and you also need a load balancer. That is not for small services visiteed by a small audience.

Thanks!! I did see something about Docker swarm but I don’t have 3 PCs running linux to set it up.

Guess I’ll just delete the container and start over.

Thanks

You actually don’t need three computers. You can initialize it on one and use it as a manager and a worker too. Only if you want to, but I would use Docker Compose instead.