In Docker for Windows does each container run in separate VM?

Hi everybody, I am investigating the new Docker for Windows. There are some articles which I red on the internet that are implying that isolation is achieved (in windows) by each docker container running in a separate VirtualMachine. On Linux, Docker would achieve isolation between containers using the Linux features such as namespaces. But how is that done on Windows. I would really appreciate it if someone can help me with this. There is just not enough clear information about it out there and I got a bit stuck. Thank you in advance!

Hello @elenanklv,

I’m pretty new to the docker ecosystem, but from my understanding (and probably over-simplification), Docker for Windows creates a Linux Virtual Machine (running Alpine Linux if I understood correctly) that is run in an Hyper-V VM.

So basically, all docker containers are run on Linux, in a VM. The fact it’s an Hyper-V VM is just a way to get better performance (should be better than running VirtualBox) and the Docker for Windows application simply interacts with this VM to control it, create mounts, handle the network, etc.

If anyone sees errors in my explanation, I would love to know :wink:

1 Like

Thank you for the reply! I really appreciate this clarification !

1 Like

There are two types of Windows containers… Windows Containers & Hyper-V Containers. Windows Containers work the same way you know Linux based containers work… one or more in a host where the host can be a VM. Hyper-V containers are different though in that they run a single container within a tiny Hyper-V VM.

We interviewed the guy who owns the Windows Container story for Microsoft recently on our podcast if you’re interested in learning not only more about this, but where they are going & helping. I found it fascinating how much an old engineering team like Windows is contributing to an open source project!