IP Addr for Postgres

Hello Experts,

I am new to docker. I have vm player and running ubuntu LTS image running on it.

I have a docker image of postgres DB running in it.
From my laptop, I have spring boot based application running and I have to specify the ip address of postgres.
How to get ip address of postgres container? Please help.

Did you expose the port of your container? Probably not.
If you expose a port the container behaves like a normal programm on your computer. So your ip is localhost.

If your spring boot application runs on the host and the postgres container publishes the container port 5432 to the contaienr port 5432, then localhost:5432 is correct.

If your spring boot application runs in a different container in the default docker network, you need to link your spring boot container with the postgres container and use the link to address the database. The default docker network has no buildin dns server.

If your spring boot application runs in a different container in the same custom network, you can simply rely on the networks dns and use servicename:5432 to access the database.

Hello meyay,
Thanks for your reply.
It is my dev environment. In my laptop, I have IDE and im trying connect to postgres docker deployed on a ubuntu image using VM Player. How to go about it? Please suggest.

The response is still vague: is the IDE running in the VM Player VM, like the docker engine - or is it running on the host?

Sorry. IDE is in my laptop as well as VM workstation player.
Ubunte image is running on VM workstation player and postgres DB is in ubuntu image.

Okay, I uderstand that you want to be abe to run the spring boot application within your IDE (Eclipse, IntelliJ or something else…) on the host AND inside the VM. Technicaly both is possible.

On last thing: please share the exact docker run command or docker-compose.yml that you use to start the postgres container.

Hi,

Thanks for the quick reply.
I can start the docker without any issues.