Issue when trying to write to a mounted volume from inside a container as a non-root user

Hi all, I’m relatively new to Docker. Recently I’ve been working on a container that will be running ZooKeeper but I’m running into issues with permissions on the host volumes that I mount into my container.

This is my setup:

On the host machine (Ubuntu 14.04):

• Created a “zookeeper” system user (id=106) and group (id=111).
  • Created the directory “/var/log/zookeeper” and set its ownership to zookeeper (ie. chown zookeeper:zookeeper). This is the directory that I will be mounting into my container.

Inside the container (Ubuntu 14.04):

• Also created a “zookeeper” system user (id=102) and group (id=105) which I use as the user from which to execute the command in the ENTRYPOINT.
  • Create the same directory “/var/log/zookeeper” that will be mounted to and also set its ownership to zookeeper:zookeeper (although I don’t think this matters).

Once I start up my container with the /var/log/zookeeper mount and I open up a shell inside of the container as the zookeeper user (that was created inside the container), I find that I get a “Permission Denied” error if I try to create a file in the mounted directory /var/log/zookeeper. When I do an “ls -l” to look at the ownership of this directory (still inside of the container) it looks something like this:

drwxr-xr-x 2  106  111   4096 Jun 30 17:18 zookeeper

The 106 and 111 in this case correspond to the zookeeper user and group ids of the host machine which I think is where the issue lies. I tried opening a shell inside of the container but this time I went in as the root user and the scenario that I described above worked perfectly fine just that root was the owner of the file that got created (which was expected).

From this I concluded that I need to either:

(a) Run the application inside of my container as the default root user instead of the zookeeper user that I create.