Justification for paid plans for Private Repos and Private Collaborators

Foreword

Forgive me that I might come off as being self-entitled or just plain ignorant but I am new to Docker and I just wanna voice out how I feel about it and the problem I have with it.

My thoughts on Docker for the first time

First off, I would like to say that Docker is a great tool for development and creating isolated containers without having to fiddle with parent configurations. I’ve so far used docker to put up a nodejs app and a mysql database with docker compose.

What’s my problem with Docker

However, now I have a project I am working on and I would only want to have one or two collaborators to be able to access my private repository. What I find in my opinion quite infuriating is that Docker only offers 1 private repository for a free tier and does not enable private repositories to be made accessible to collaborators via invite.

Similar features, but with a Paywall

I find this a bit striking because GitHub, which has pretty much a similar structure when it comes to uploading repositories (I mean we’re talking about uploading repositories here), do not require their users to pay just to have private repositories or pay to allow more than one collaborator on a private repository.

Why that’s a problem

Cost-effectiveness and Open Sourcing

Personally I do not find this an ideal situation especially in situations for small teams of developers (like 1-5 devs) who just need to work together on a one-off project and simply need to share project code around without having to fiddle with their own configuration. Also, I don’t think a team would put down money just to collaborate on a project for like a few months, especially if it’s just a bunch of students working on a school project

Security Concerns?