Linking problems between two containers

Hi everyone,

I’m relatively new to Docker (just a week or two). Here’s my problem, which I’ve spent days trying to resolve:

– My first Docker container is running Redis
– My second Docker container is running Tomcat with a custom web app (Java based REST API)
– The web app uses Redis as a data caching layer
– My primary reference for implementing the linking is https://hub.docker.com/_/redis/
– Currently I’m running on Docker for Windows, but the host platform is likely to change in Production

I start the Redis container with
docker run --name myredisserver -d -p 6379:6379 redis redis-server --appendonly yes
(have also tried with various combinations, such as no -p parameter, etc)

I start the Tomcat container with
docker run --name myapi -p 8080:8080 --link myredisserver:redis -d myapiimage
The code uses the Lettuce library and initialises Redis with
RedisClient.create("redis://localhost");

The API (Tomcat) responds fine when calling services that don’t use Redis (e.g. “http://localhost:8080/api/debug” displays the message I expect)
My test service for Redis adds a key/value pair then retrieves it and displays it. When initialising Redis using localhost as above, I get a 500 error:
io.lettuce.core.RedisConnectionException: Unable to connect to localhost:6379

After trying everything I could find online, in desperation, I got the value of the Redis container’s IP, and changed localhost to that IP:
RedisClient.create("redis://172.17.0.2");
Then rebuilt and redeployed.

This time it worked as expected. That made it pretty clear what the problem was, but I thought the purpose of the --link parameter was so that it would take care of network communication between the two containers. Also that the -p param on the Redis container would expose port 6379 to localhost. What am I missing?