MSSQL Login Timeout Error

Hi,

I’m VERY new to docker. This is my first experience with it. My company has Docker and my boss wants me to deploy my python web app that I created using Dash. The web app connects to Microsoft SQL Server 2017 for my databases.

I have created an image for my app but when I try to run it I get this error:

sqlalchemy.exc.OperationalError: (pyodbc.OperationalError) ('HYT00', '[HYT00] [Microsoft][ODBC Driver 17 for SQL Server]Login timeout expired (0) (SQLDriverConnect)')

My connection in the app looks like this:

__server = 'server'
__database = 'db'
__username = 'username'
__password = 'password'
__driver = 'ODBC Driver 17 for SQL Server'
__password = urllib.parse.quote_plus(__password)
__driver = __driver.replace(' ', '+')
__connection_string = fr'mssql+pyodbc://{__username}:{__password}@{__server}/{__database}?driver={__driver}'

Here is also my Dockerfile and docker-compose.yml (mainly things I got from my boss and the internet.)

FROM python:3.10-slim

RUN mkdir /app

RUN pip install pipenv

COPY Pipfile* /tmp/

RUN cd /tmp && pipenv requirements > /app/requirements.txt

RUN cd /app

WORKDIR /app

RUN pip install -r /app/requirements.txt

RUN apt-get -y update && apt-get install -y curl gnupg

RUN curl https://packages.microsoft.com/keys/microsoft.asc | apt-key add -

# download appropriate package for the OS version
# Debian 11
RUN curl https://packages.microsoft.com/config/debian/11/prod.list  \
    > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mssql-release.list

RUN exit
RUN apt-get -y update
RUN ACCEPT_EULA=Y apt-get install -y msodbcsql17

COPY . .

CMD [ "gunicorn", "--workers=6", "--timeout=100", "-b 0.0.0.0:8000", "app:app" ]
version: "3.10"
services:

web:
    build: "."
    command: >
      gunicorn -b 0.0.0.0:8000
        --reload "app:app"
    ports:
      - "8000:8000"
    volumes:
      - ".:/app"