Multiple containers with separate audio outputs

I’m new to Docker but already love it. I spun up a home server on Ubuntu Xenial on an x86 box. My setup is home automation centric. I’ve got openHAB, mosquitto, frontail, and Shinobi running so far.

My question: how hard is it to configure multiple containers with separate audio outputs? I was planning to connect several USB audio output dongles and map each one to a container. I’d like openHAB to have its own output and also run a squeezebox container and a shairport sync container.

My backup is to use a few Raspberry Pi’s but I’ve really been loving the simplicity of getting everything centralized on one box.

Hi,

This is probably do-able for you, using the --device flag in the run command. For example

$ docker run --rm -t -i --device=/dev/ttyUSB0 ubuntu bash

So long as each dongle has a unique device, you can attach each device to its respective container at run time. USB devices can be tricky: device names are often assigned at boot time, and often don’t persist through reboots.

Sounds good, I’ll try it!

Do you know if I need to configure/install ALSA or something similar in the containers, or is it sufficient to install it on the host?

I don’t know about ALSA and containers; I’ve never personally tried multiplexing audio across multiple containers, and don’t have a setup to try anything. I did find this thread in StackOverflow that suggests some changes/reconfiguration is required to make it work. It’s quite an old thread, and again, I haven’t personally tried it, so YMMV, caveats apply, try at your own risk, etc. https://stackoverflow.com/questions/28985714/run-apps-using-audio-in-a-docker-container

Thanks @bryceryan for pointing me in the right direction!

I got it all working, and wanted to briefly explain for the benefit of someone who might find this thread. I tried quite a few steps through trial and error, but I believe these are the general steps to follow.