New docker user - couple of probably stupid new user questions

Hi,

I just started getting interested in docker. Currently, I run Ubuntu 18.04 LTS using lamp/Word Press to self-host a small useless website - I did it for the learning experience and the fun.

About myself: Mainly a Windows (35 years) user (work/games/research) I’ve been experimenting with Linux for about 30 years off and on (Red Hat 1.0 was my first taste) - not enough to become a master, more than enough to become a slightly above average user. That being said, sometimes I may sound like I know more than I actually do - please treat me as a nim-wit when explaining and thank you all.

I know it’s an old statement (been saying it for 30 years:-) - If Linux would only run games like windows does, just games, I’d switch in a second. I am lucky enough to have 5 PC’s at my disposal but all but 1 of them has other jobs; so only one Linux box.

What I would like to do but know if it is possible before I spend weeks reading about docker.

My website currently runs on port 80 redirected to 443 - on my firewall I forward 80/443 to the web server. I would like to install a mail server and have it run web-mail (exposed to the world…sigh…scary thing that; for me anyways) also on 443 (doesn’t have to be - it’s just cleaner).

Is it possible to retain my current Linux/lamp setup AND install a mail-server in docker and keep their various config files/databases and everything separate so as to not overwrite my web related files?

As I said I do not have a separate Linux box to run the mail server on. I also have a Windows 2012R2 server that doesn’t do much except act as internal DNS here at home to about 30 networked devices. I assume a low volume mail server won’t kill it to much but I’d rather put it all on Linux. The mail server is mostly to send/receive emails from Word Press website (I don’t expect such if any:-) and one user account (me - I will use it for my own personal email).