Nginx - 403 forbidden

Hello, I am totally new to Docker and am currently following a tutorial on YouTube. I have downloaded the nginx image and successfully start a container by running the following command: docker run --name website -d -p 8080:80 nginx:latest When I go to localhost:8080 I can see the welcome nginx screen.

The next step was to host a static page by using -v so I cd’ed into the folder that contains my index.html file and from there I run the following: docker run --name Project_009 -v $(pwd):/usr/share/nginx/html:ro -p 8080:80 -d nginx:latest

However, unlike in the tutorial I am getting 403 Forbidden error when I go to localhost:8080. I have already googled the error but most explanations are related to some more advanced stuff which I haven’t yet covered. I did try to go to /usr/share/nginx directory to see if it is an authority issue but that structure doesn’t exist. Do I have to create this manually myself or should this have been created by the above command? I also tried running the docker command with sudo in front just to see if that makes any difference but no luck.

I am a bit stuck and was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.
Many thanks

Docker version 19.03.11, build 42e35e6
nginx/1.19.3
Fedora 32

Check the permissions of the files in this folder. They should be -rw-r--r--.

Hi tekki, the index.html file in the folder has -rw-r–r-- authority. Could you think of anything else I need should check? Many thanks

Las time I checked, the nginx image is designed to run the nginx process as root, so actually the unix permissions tekki wrote should be sufficient. Enter the running container and check the content of /usr/share/nginx/html, if it’s empty things like ACLs (typical for Syno/QNAP setups) or selinux prevent the folder from beeing mounted to the container.