Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

"No space left on device" and my failed attempts to make more space

I’m brand new to docker, and not sure i’m getting the concepts and terminology 100% correct, so please forgive me and interpret with that in mind.

I have installed a docker container containing a package called tailseeker onto a Centos 7 server, following instructions on https://github.com/hyeshik/tailseeker#running-with-docker

Before I run tailseeker proper, i have to “extend the Docker image to supplement a genome reference database” which involves “building the Docker image from an empty directory” so i type:

docker build -t tailseeker:GRCm38–build-arg genome=GRCm38 .

This returns a very lengthy message, ending in:

OSError: [Errno 28] No space left on device

I know there are several other posts about this error, but none have given me what i need. I’m not running out of space on the server (nor the partition). I have replaced /var/lib/docker with a link to /home/docker, to avoid problems that it was causing there. I’m using docker version 1.13.0. Lots of the solutions I find online seem to be specific to older versions. I have tried various commands to clean out old docker images and files. They run successfully, but they don’t solve the problem.

I have only a beginners understanding of docker’s storage, but have tried a few ways to modify things to increase it: I was previously getting an error about the size of my “thin pool”, I found and ran a solution to that, by asking for 250GB rather than the default 100GB:

sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/home/docker/devicemapper/devicemapper/data bs=1G count=0 seek=250

….which solved that problem, but now I get the “No space left on device” error instead. Further increasing the thin pool size (up to 2000GB) makes no further difference.

I have also tried the following command, and several variations on it:

sudo dockerd --storage-opt dm.basesize=20G