Open Media Vault: When Docker is running ports requests from outside network can not be forwarded

I am running Open Media Vault (OMV) 5, which looks to be Debian 10. I am running on an old rack mounted server that I picked up a few years ago. My router is running DDWRT. I am a software developer with a working knowledge of linux (enough to comfortably follow most guides).

I’ve been using Open Media Vault for several years (going back to R4 of OMV) and I’ve had this problem since the beginning. I have never been able to forward a port to any apps running on Docker. I am talking about the standard containers - SABNZBD, PiHole, Sonarr, etc. Everything works fine internally - I can access the containers via the port in the browser, my kodi boxes can access shared library in MariaDB, etc. The issue only seems to affect Docker - when I was running on R4 I had a windows instance running in VirtualBox and I had no problems passing ports through to programs running there. I have also had no problems passing ports through to other windows boxes in my environment. I am not doing anything fancy at the network level.

So as part of my debugging over in the OMV forum the mods had me shut down Docker and then forward port 80 to the OMV box. Sure enough, the OMV UI came up. The instant I started Docker inside of OMV I could no longer access the OMV UI from the outside. At that point they said I should hop over here to seek help.

As I said earlier I don’t do this in my day job but I am happy to provide any other debugging information that I can provide. Thank you very much in advance!

bump? Any thoughts would be appreciated!

bump? Still hoping for help

I don’t use OMV but I can try to give you some advice based on your described experience. If I can’t help, hopefully someone else will see your question.