Really disappointing tutorial for beginners

I am completely new to Docker.

I never used Git Directly but I think I have used it from VS 2017 to get stuff, so it must be on my system.

I successfully installed Docker for Windows and (after rebooting) the whale icon appeared and I was presented with the UI.

I decided to go through the tutorial but it failed on the first command… I did copy the message from the window but, apparently, it doesn’t allow that because when I try to paste it here there is nothing on the clipboard.

I can’t tell you how disappointing it is when something you are new to fails. I now have to go to Git and find out all about installing it and setting it up when I really am not interested in it. I want to get on with my container experience.

Can I suggest that the initial tutorial checks to see if Git is installed and asks the user if he wants it installed, if it isn’t?

Cheers,

Pete.

Which tutorial is ‘the tutorial’, is it this one? There is no need for Git at this place, you just copy the command docker run..., open a console, for example PowerShell, and paste it there (right mouse click or Ctrl-v).

Sorry, I should have been more specific. I’m talking about when you install Docker for Windows. The first thing you see is a “Getting Started tutorial” (which in principle, is really good…) but, at least in my case, it simply failed on the first statement which was an execution of Git. As I have no knowledge of Git, it means I now have to go and learn all about it and install it before I can run the tutorial. It would be nice if the code had detected that Git was not available and either stopped or offered to get it.

I can see that the Tutorial you are referencing is much more straightforward.