Replacing or using Ansible with Docker

I’m new to docker and containers and an trying to understand how best to integrate in to your environment.

We currently use Ansible for environment configuration and deployment. Deployment I think is clear - rather than uploading a build artefact on to a specific server and deploying by copying/moving/symlinking files as we do right now with Ansible, am I right in thinking we would instead produce a container for that specific build that contained all our source and dependencies and could be directly deployed using something like docker?

Configuration I’m struggling to see how that looks in a docker/container world. Our Ansible scripts have been built up over a few years and nicely describe how each environment is configured. Do all the configuration steps essentially get replaced with Docker files? So for example, we have an Ansible role that gets applied to all webservers in application. It makes sure apache is installed, certain configuration files exist, some utilities, etc - would this be replaced by a single container that did the same set up in a docker file?

Thanks

In the environment you describe, I’d set up my automated build system to produce Docker images, push them to a Docker registry (Docker’s, or quay.io, or Google’s or Amazon’s hosted offering, or run your own), and then use Ansible’s docker_container command to actually launch the images.

One reasonable way to think of what Docker does is isolating a built single program and its dependencies, with its own filesystem. For the most part you shouldn’t need to copy individual files or install dependencies, those should all be packed up in the image.