Securing Docker containers UID/GID?

Guys i have very basic question on docker security.I’m trying to understand security from both the host/container(s). I’ve had limited docker experience but i haven’t seen anyone bother to pass the uid/gid when starting a container. My understanding if you don’t then you will be running as root from both the host and container perspective. From the container perspective i think this could be a major security concern and you should always be running as a standard user & always pass a uid/gid when you start your containers. Correct me if i’m wrong.

From the host perspective i would assume the only concern would be your mounted volumes otherwise you should be fine from host perspective unless our course there was a security type vulnerability and they were about to break out of the container.

With all that being said would best practices dictate that each container, in general, should be started with a unique UID? Not sure about GID. Should you create a unique user for each type of container you will be running?

• Some containers start as root and execute the main process as root.
  • Some containers start as root, but execute the main process as an unprivileged user. Usually those images provide env variables for user mapping and apply the provided IDs to the unprivileged user, then chown files in the volume mount locations and start the main process.
  • Some containers already start as an unprivileged user. These have a USER instruction in the Dockerfile. See Docker run reference | Docker Documentation for how to override the UID:GID when creating the container (the same can be done in a compose file).

In case 2 and 3, the UID inside the container does not necessarily require having a user with the same UID on the host.

1 Like

Thanks, If you wouldn’t mind i would like to dig a deeper.