Users, uid, gid and permissions concerns on a docker host running multiple different containers

Hi.
I really like Docker, I really do. I like the concepts and features. I’m not a Docker newbie, but not an expert either.

My usecase: I work for a company developing software, and I want to use docker as means to ship and deploy our product to our companies servers. Our software produces logfiles, and needs some persisent configuration that should not be lost when installing and update, so obviously we use some docker volumes.

I understand most Docker concepts, have created Dockerfiles, our CI server builds images, all works fine.
But one thing I have not found so far is this:

Is there a recent /official / complete best-practice document for how to approach the docker image user management, and the impact on volume permissions, when not using a dedicated host per container?
Some more elaboration.
Obviously containers should not run as root, for security reasons. I get that. Therefore, the image should contain instructions that creates another user. OK. We use the linux useradd command for that.
Browsing areound, I find generally two variations in Dockerfiles:

• useradd without a specifc UID
  • useradd with a specific UID
    (example: postgres: RUN groupadd -r postgres --gid=999 && useradd -r -g postgres --uid=999 postgres)

When these containers create volumes, the UID of the container is used for file permissions
So, when I install multiple applications on a same docker host, the volumes of these containers are owned by uid 999 (postgres), or 200 (JFrog artifactory), 500 (Sonatype Nexus) on the linux host.
Which leads me to wonder: when a container creates a user, is it automatically created on the docker host server as well? I guess not; the uid and gid are just numbers, without a reference to user on the host?

Let’s continue with the example JFrog Artifactory developers, who have appearanly chosen uid 200 for their user.