So, let me get this straight

I have been hearing about Docker. I am not sure I get it yet. Can I confirm a few initial impressions?

• Most people run everything as root in a container.
  • Templates for docker containers are called “images”
  • People who want to run RoR in a container start with an image that is NAMED after ruby and the version they have
  • No one runs stuff like rvm in a container
  • The problem of credentials hasn’t really been solved
  • A container is somehow lighter than a VM, but in ways that no one really talks about ever

Am I off to a good start? Or am I having lots of crazy misconceptions?

I guess perhaps I could start by trying to forget everything I know, but I have been programming for 35 years, and I value my experience to much for that. Perhaps I am just too old for docker, and I should go get a different career.

• Most people run everything as root in a container.

Most people is probably a bad way to start that list. It’s not best practice to run apps as root, without regard to if the app is running inside or outside of a container.

Containers are akin to FreeBSD jails or Solaris zones, etc.

If I’m running PostgreSQL, I run it as the postgres user in Docker containers and outside of them. If I’m running RabbitMQ, I run it as the rabbitmq user in Docker containers and outside of them. Nothing changes because of docker. People who run apps as root in Docker are likely to be the same people who run apps as root outside of Docker.

• Templates for docker containers are called “images”

Given how long you’ve been programming, think of the Golden Images of 20 years ago where you’d burn an app to a CD or create a R/O floppy for an app. It’s the same thing. Dockerfiles are like shell scripts that tell docker how to make your golden image for your app. That image is then immutable. If you want to release a new version, you create and run a new image.