Starting a SaaS from Laravel application with Docker

Dear everyone,

I’m completely new to Docker. I discovered Docker when I was looking for a solution for SaaS. Me and a colleague have made a webstore platform in Laravel 5.8.

Now, we would like to introduce this as a SaaS, where users can register a new webstore so that they get a subdomain and can access this webstore and webstore-dashboard from their subdomain.

We already have the webstore and dashboard working: it works with a MySQL database and some payment API’s from PayPal.

All the database data and maybe some configuration files (such as PayPal API credentials) should be in a container (if I understood correctly).

When I was looking where to start, I came across alot of terminology such as CaaS, PaaS, and more. I felt quite overwhelmed.

When jumping in a project like this: where to start? How / where can I learn how to get this Laravel project of us running as a SaaS as explained above? Is there anything that can put us in the right direction?

Thank you for reading and kind regards,

Lars

Yes, Docker is used by us in both production and local development environments (with AWS ECS).

It functions flawlessly in production, but the local development environments are giving us some trouble. This, in my opinion, is primarily due to the way Docker for Mac functions and synchronises files between the host computer and the containers. This is particularly problematic for our node container, which runs a Next.js application. Changes to node modules are problematic, live reload is slow, and Next.js has trouble handling the enormous number of files the framework regenerates when making changes to files. It causes the node container to occasionally crash or require rebuilding because something went wrong…

It sounds like you are interested in using Docker to containerize your Laravel application and make it available as a software as a service (SaaS). Here are some steps you can take to get started: