Docker Community Forums

Share and learn in the Docker community.

Understanding docker, docker container, docker images

Hi,

I’m new to docker and wish to learn it. I have experience in FreeBSD Jail if that makes any difference. But to get me started, I would like to know one thing first.

In a FreeBSD Jail, I can connect to it via cli and execute FreeBSD commands like install server software (tomcat, mariadb etc). Basically do all the setup inside the jail to get the application up and running.

Can I also do this in a Docker Container? Run an empty Docker container and ssh to it and install all the software I need? Reason I’m asking is because I’m quite comfortable installing software myself via command line.

Appreciate any feedback.

Regards,
Allen

Hello, @allensandiego !

I will admit that I too am also new to this, but from what I have gathered so far:

When setting up a Container, you can specify within a Dockerfile or a Docker-Compse .yml file, to have various applications installed when the Container is being spin up.

After spinning up the Container, you can access the Container via SSH (following this link is a good basic of how to get to that point:)

https://phase2.github.io/devtools/common-tasks/ssh-into-a-container/

There are many other means to access the Container as well, and if I remember correctly, most of them have to be setup/configured within the Dockerfile or Docker-Compose file.

Regarding entering into an empty Container, void of everything including a simple OS, I’m not sure about that. I think it still needs to have some OS/software inside the Container to allow you inside to add software. This question is for someone more knowledgeable than myself.

Sure you can do so but it’s as if you buy a car and push it instead of using the engine. Its not how you use it. :slight_smile: