Understanding docker run --attach option

I’m a newbie with Docker and I’m pretty stuck at the how the --attach option works with docker run.

I would say that I’ve somehow understood the following command, as far as I understood with the -it Docker creates a pseudo-tty where the /bin/bash command is executed and the stdin and stdout of my local terminal is linked to the pseudo-tty.

$ docker run --rm -it ubuntu /bin/bash
root@d5e3551114ca:/# ls
bin  boot  dev  etc  home  lib  lib32  lib64  libx32  media  mnt  opt  proc  root  run  sbin  srv  sys  tmp  usr  var

What I do not understand is the meaning of the following commands:

• In this case I see no output on my local terminal, but in the docker logs I can see that the keystrokes are intercepted and executed
docker run --rm --attach stdin -i ubuntu /bin/bash
  • Here the container is started and stopped immediatelly
docker run --rm --attach stdin ubuntu /bin/bash
  • Here the container is started but keystrokes are not intercepted nor the output is shown
docker run --rm --attach stdin -t ubuntu /bin/bash
  • Here I can see the output but keystrokes are not intercepted
$ docker run --rm --attach stdout -t ubuntu /bin/bash
root@b47a46abdf34:/# ls

Afair --attach is used to attach stdin, stdout and stderr to a container, so it can be used within chained pipe commands.

I am not really sure if the default behavior changed and --attach is not necessarily required for this anymore, as stdin and stdout are available anyway:

echo "test" | docker run --rm alpine echo "container:  $(</dev/stdin)" | echo "outside $(</dev/stdin)"
# output: outside container: test

It doesn’t matter, if you add -i for interactive and/or -a stdin -a stdout. Though if you just add -a stdin without -a stdout, you will see the host’s stdout instead of the piped in value.

Update: whoever reads this: the example and drawn conclusion from it are wrong.

Thanks for the answer.
I was trying your commands and I ran the following: