Bachelor Thesis Project with Docker - ideas

Hello,
I am looking for cool project ideas to do in a bachelors thesis, related to docker or infrastructure as code.
So if there is anything you always wanted to do but never had the time to, just leave a comment and maybe a can make it happen.

TD;DR
In my student’s job as a software developer, I got in touch with docker a couple of months ago. Now I want to use my bachelor thesis to learn more about it and hopefully create something other people could benefit from. During the last month, I tried to wrap my head around docker and find a fitting project, but I couldn’t found one.
So I hope people in the community have stumbled over some cool ideas ^^)
Greetings
Felix

I can imagine people sticking to docker-compose and swarm stack deployments, would benefit from a package manager, like the kubernetes world does with helm. Preferably with a go cli-client and parameters and options like helm. II know that https://github.com/cnabio/cnab-spec exists, which does a similar thing, but still looks not like the final solution I would like to see. Not sure though, if this is enough of an idea for bachelors thesis.

1 Like

Thank you for this suggestion, Metin.
I finally had the time to dig into it and it seems to be a very interesting topic. It will remain on the shortlist.
Doing my brief research I stumbled over a CNAB implementation called Porter. Porter currently supports different environments (K8s, azure, AWS, docker-compose, …) but sadly no swarm-mode.

Right now (without any experience with Porter) I would try to create a “mixin” for the Swarm-CLI in Porter. Keeping the necessary configuration as narrow as possible.

Would this benefit your problem, or is CNAB to big of overhead for the most use cases?
Another idea would be to revive or rebuild something like swarm-pack.