Do I need/Should I use Docker?

Okay, in advance of the actual question: I tried to put tags for basically being new to Docker, and that my question is from complete ignorance (for lack of a more politically correct term). The optional tag box read “search or create”, but I couldn’t create the tags I felt were useful in describing my situation.

Onto the real Nitty Gritty (not to be confused with an NHL mascot).

I’m looking to write a computer game. I’m a Windows developer and have plenty of experience using C++ in Windows, and I’m reading up on DirectX 12 right now (I’m creating my own game engine, as well, as opposed to using Unreal or Unity…where all the functionality implied by Docker is supposedly built in). However, once the game is completed, I want the game to also run on Linux clients and the game server to run on a Linux based server. In short: I want to develop the game using Visual Studio 2017 and deploy on Windows and Linux. I want to do it this way because I do not want to deal with make files (mostly) or trying to learn the Vulkan graphics libraries, since DirectX is more familiar to me. I think Vulkan works on Windows as well, and if, ultimately, that will make a Docker solution for my game more stable, then I’ll bite that bullet and learn Vulkan as well. I’d rather not, as I’m already looking at a LONG development time as it is.

But wait, let me try to make it more messy.

In order to test the system, since I don’t have an actual desktop or server, but a rather simple “gamers” laptop, I’ve partitioned my non-SSD hard drive into sections so I can install and run VirtuaBox, which will ultimately have the testing environment for the Linux “versions” of the game, as well as a Linux server for the game server and database.

So, to save myself the seemingly lengthy process of learning to use Docker, my question is: Should I use Docker for any of this, and do I need Docker for any of this (aside from Unreal and Unity already do this)? Specifically: