Docker networking with nextcloud

Hi all!
Im a noob at docker still learning and so far I managed to find all the info I needed by googling solutions…
However im really stuck at one part so please shed some light…

As far as I understand docker creates a bridge as default ie containers should be able to access the internet and should be able to get connected to by exposing ports?

Im using an image called nextcloud that I install
And I run it by using -p 8080:80 so it exposes ports I need to connect to it.
Firewall has been allowed and router ports forwarded.
Im using file sharing services on port 445 and I am able to connect to my server without problems so im sure the conection works.
Im also using tplink’s DDNS thats easy to setup on the router (example myserver.tplinkdns.com).
It all works I even RDP into my server from 4G.

Now here is the problem, on LAN I am able to connect to nextcloud however from outside the network I am unable to and I belive the container has no conectivity as trough the log I see an error for hostname and says using 172.0.x.x… Im not sure it should be using that since my subnet is on 192.168.1.0/24

What am I doing wrong with exposing ports?
I have seen a command -h that maybe I would need to use to set hostname by that?

Any help is appreciated!
Thanks!

Okay, I started my message 3 times, because every time I wanted to suggest something, I relaized you included the answer in your original question… So let’s hope this time I will not miss anything.

Have you tried other ports too with Docker and other images? For example nginx? Just to make sure that is not the problem. Your connection should work, but you can try to define the exact IP address when you forward the port:

docker run -p 192.168.1.X:8080:80 ..

This is because Docker has its own network with its own IP range. Since you have Docker Desktop and everything runs in a virtual machine, you will not see that network. You don’t need to set the hostname of the container.

1 Like